American Institute of Tamil Language
New Approach to Tamil Language Learning
அமெரிக்கத் தமிழ்மொழிக் கல்வி நிறுவனம்
புதிய அணுகுமுறையில் தமிழ்மொழிக் கல்வி
This document sets out our policy for responding to requests for deletion of data. This
document explains the rights of the data subject in relation to data deletion and the
responsibilities of AITL in responding with such a request.
An individual has the right to erasure, also known as ‘the right to be forgotten’. The principle
underpinning this right is to enable an individual to request the deletion or removal of
personal data where there is no compelling reason for its continued processing.
When does the right to erasure apply?
Individuals have a right to have personal data erased and to prevent processing in specific circumstances:
• Where the personal data is no longer necessary in relation to the purpose for which it
was originally collected/processed;
• When the individual withdraws consent;
• When the individual objects to the processing and there is no other legal ground for the
relevant processing activity;
• When the personal data was unlawfully processed;
• Where the personal data has to be erased in order to comply with a legal obligation.
What information does AITL retain?
If consent is provided, personal data (including the above, plus address, telephone number and
notes) may be stored for the purposes of contacting you regarding AITL news, products and promotions.
How can data be deleted?
A system administrator (individual user acting on behalf of their organization) can delete data
from their Interplace system whenever they wish. This data is deleted from the system
immediately and cannot be recovered by any users or AITL employees after this point. Data
which has been deleted or otherwise destroyed can not be recovered at any time.
Data may still remain in the systems back-up files, which will be deleted periodically.
Information may be deleted from our systems upon request to email@example.com. We undertake to perform the deletion within one month (30 calendar days) and will send you a confirmation once the information has been deleted. Wherever possible, we will aim to complete the request in advance of the deadline.